Sixth (and final) Stop: Dan’s Hamburgers

Dan’s Hamburgers, an Austin tradition since 1973

Another timeless icon of Austin, Dan’s Hamburgers has served Austinites since 1973. Family owned and operated, Dan’s has four locations throughout Austin and is known for their delicious and inexpensive burgers.

Dan’s old school diner style is like a trip back to a 1950s burger joint

Before trying Dan’s, I didn’t have high expectations because the one location I knew of that’s on Manchaca looked kinda dinky and worn-out. However when I walked in, I was completely surprised.

The inside is very old school, almost like Top Notch, but even more so. With the black and white tiled floor, classic red, white and blue seating, a diner bar in the back and the employees old-fashioned burger joint uniforms, it’s as if you walked into a 1950s diner.

Another thing I was surprised about Dan’s was how cheap the burgers for the good quality you’re getting. With a solid menu to choose from with some tasty options like their hickory burger, jalapeño cheese burger, chicken fried steak sandwich and  hamburger steak dinner – they even have a breakfast menu that includes breakfast tacos, biscuits and gravy and pancakes. Yet I knew what I wanted immediately: the jalapeño cheese burger.

Dan’s hickory burger and jalapeño cheese burger with their regular and curly fries.

The jalapeño cheese burger includes mustard, tomato, lettuce, pickles, onions (and jalapeños and cheese, obviously). For my side, I jumped on their option for curly fries because they’re my favorite style of fries and it was refreshing to finally see a burger place that serves curly fries.

When I got my jalapeño cheese burger (still keeping it old school) it was wrapped in paper. When I unwrapped it, I will say that it didn’t look that appealing – it looked like someone stepped on it. But that didn’t discourage me as it still did look tasty.

When I bit into it, I fell in love with the little and simple burger. It was extremely juicy (which is why I think I liked it so much) and the flavors of the jalapeño and cheese was so satisfying and good that once I started eating it more, I could’ve cared less about how the burger looked. Plus the curly fries did not disappoint – I could’ve ate a whole tray of them.

Dan’s jalapeño cheese burger

Something else to acknowledge about Dan’s was their great service – especially from one of servers who was an older man. After every customer was finished with their tray of food, instead of having them get up to throw it away, he would come by, tell them he’s got it and takes their tray for them – and that’s not something he has to do whatsoever. Also he was very attentive as well. When he saw I was trying to find the soda fountain or the restroom, he saw that I was lost and kindly pointed me to the right direction. It’s rare to find kind service like this, so I find it important to always note it and show my appreciation for it.

Overall, I give Dan’s Hamburgers a 4/5. Their burgers are absolutely delicious for a reasonable price. Yet one thing I will say is that they were a bit greasy from juiciness of the patty. However I didn’t mind it too much because it didn’t ruin the burger. I highly recommend the jalapeño cheese burger, or if you’re not a fan of spicy foods, the hickory burger was very tasty too.

This review concludes my “best burger in Austin” hunt, thank you for reading it and watching it all unfold! Till next time!

-Alyssa

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑